the Humm at Fifteen

Ottawa Valley community newspaper theHummI recently heard someone perfectly describe time spent with children: the days are long but the years fly by. Having had my own domestic nest emptied recently, I can attest to the validity of that bittersweet statement. But being one of the proud parents of a monthly arts paper now entering its fifteenth year of publication,I can see how it applies equally to a career, a major volunteer endeavour, or the birthing and nurturing of any worthwhile long-term undertaking.

I’d be lying if I said that these past few days at deadline-time for a forty-page issue didn’t seem endless and, at times, painful. But now that I’m stepping back to look at the big picture (and write my editorial literally minutes before sending our files to the printer), I have to say that I’m pretty proud of this adolescent Humm.

They also say that it takes a village to rear a child, so this seems like the perfect time to thank the “village” that comprises much of Lanark and Renfrew Counties for providing all the fodder that has helped theHumm grow, for steering it in the right direction, and for welcoming it into your family!

Humm Contributor and Editor: Kris Riendeau

Leave a Reply

